Hell Yeah: Triple-Chocolate Earl Grey Cookies

I do not bake.  I think I’m so (well… relatively!) good at cooking because I trust my instincts, don’t get tied down to recipes and I’m willing to be flexible.  I almost never measure when I’m cooking, preferring to eyeball.  And all of these qualities make me a miserable baker.  However, I must be pregnant or something because I was suddenly overcome with an all-encompassing desire to eat lots and lots of homemade cookies.  I couldn’t shake the feeling, so I went out and bought a cookie tray (that’s how un-bakey I am!) and a bunch of ingredients that I wanted in my cookie.  Then I came home and searched for a recipe to modify.  Here’s what I came up with!  (Oops, I should add they’re actually good… despite my abysmal history as a baker!)

Triple-Chocolate Earl Grey Cookies (Makes a bazillion.  Feel free to halve the recipe!)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Earl Grey teabags
  • 2 tbsp boiling water
  • 1 1/2 swirled milk-and-white chocolate chips
  • Handful dark chocolate discs

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a just-fits bowl, mix together the first four ingredients.

In a large bowl, use a hand-held beater to cream together the butter and sugar.  When thoroughly mixed, add in the honey, eggs and vanilla.  Beat to combine.

Cut open the teabags and dissolve the tea in the boiling water.  Add to wet ingredients and beat for a few seconds to combine.

Gradually pour in the dry ingredients, beating constantly to combine.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Use a spoon to scoop the cookie dough onto a non-stick cookie sheet.  Flatten slightly.  Break a dark chocolate disc in half and press one half into the top of each cookie.  Bake for twelve minutes, then remove and let sit on the cookie tray for two minutes.  Move to a cooking rack until totally cooled.

Nutritional Information: Let’s not kid ourselves. 

This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hell Yeah: Triple-Chocolate Earl Grey Cookies

  1. You might not have a grill, but you can bake good cookies. I never have baked using tea, and I now I think I must try that.

  2. These look amazing – Early Grey tea is my absolute favourite when combined with chocolate, I can’t wait to try these out!

  3. Johanna GGG says:

    Earl grey, chocolate and honey are just my sort of cookie – and those swirly choc chips are so cute – wish we had such things here

  4. misterrios says:

    Just a tip, if you hate measuring, you might want to check out metric recipes. I hate measuring cups. I usually just put a bowl on the scale and dump the ingredients in. But, maybe that’s because I’m a bread baker…

    The cookies look amazing- plus the flavor of Earl Grey? I’m sold!

Leave a Reply

